Poll Panel withholds notification, Imran Khan’s swearing-in in threat

Poll Panel withholds notification, Imran Khan’s swearing-in in threat

On Tuesday, the election commission of Pakistan withheld the victory notification in the name of Imran Khan from the total of two of the five constituencies where he actually contested in the general election of 25th July. This has put his position as new prime minister and win in risk and has managed to zip up his plans.

However, in the other three constituencies, the victory notification naming Imran Khan has been issued but that will be in subject to the decision taken by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) in the pending case of the violation of the code of conduct in the election.

The Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman, 65-year-old Imran Khan were all set to take his position in the office as new Prime Minister after he was nominated by the party that has contested and have won in all the five constituencies.

However, the NA-131 (Lahore-IX) and NA-53 (Islamabad-II) constituencies have withheld the victory notification for Imran Khan. From the NA-53 constituency, Imran Khan has managed to defeat the Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Former Prime Minister. The total of 92,891 votes falls in the name of PTI chief while only 44,314 votes were grabbed by the PML-N leader.

But there is even no use for the win if the notification for the victory is still not out. The constituencies have withheld it in the prospect of a case pertaining to the ECP code of conduct violation as per the reports.

From NA-131, Imran Khan faced the toughest competition against Khawaja Saad Rafiqi, leader of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.  The NA-131 notification is withheld as the High Court of Lahore since the verdict on the former railway's minister’s plea for the votes recounting is out in front of the constitution.

The constituencies of NA-35 (Bannu), NA-243 (Karachi East-II) and NA-95 (Mianwai-I) will be the subject of the final decision of ECP in the pending case of the violation of the code of conduct.

Even some of the media outlets reported that the body of electoral has withheld the result from all constituencies about the win of Imran Khan. But was later clarified that only two constituencies have withheld the notification.

The ECP took the step a day after the superstar of cricket world was nominated as the candidate by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and is running for the Prime Minister position. It is expected that he will take oath on 14-15 August.

You can share this post!