UP cabinet approves Yogi’s renaming of Faizabad and Allahabad

UP cabinet approves Yogi’s renaming of Faizabad and Allahabad

The UP cabinet approved the renaming of Faizabad as Ayodhya and Allahabad as Prayagraj, on Tuesday. Suresh Khanna, the minister of parliamentary affairs confirmed in a press release that the decision was taken at a meeting of the state cabinet in the presence of chief minister Yogi Adityanath. The meeting was organised in Lucknow



Suresh Khanna told the reporters that Prayagraj division will comprise Prayagraj, Kaushambi, Fatehpur and Pratapgarh districts, while Ayodhya division will include Ayodhya, Ambedkarnagar, Sultanpur, Amethi and Barabanki districts.


Allahabad high court asked both, Centre and the UP, governments to file affidavits in support of renaming Allahabad as Prayagraj as someone has petitioned in the court challenging the decision to rename Allahabad as Prayagraj.


This name change game is going on in Uttar Pradesh since Yogi government take in charge. Many intellectuals, historians are in rage on social media against Yogi Adityanath’s decision of changing these names. Not only opposition and intellectuals, even Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party (SBSP), which is a constituent in NDA is criticizing changing the names.



Samajwadi Party chief and former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav said that the chief minister is taking credits just by just renaming cities.


Akhilesh Yadav tweeted on the issue: “Raja Harshvardhan made ‘Prayag Kumbh’ great by offering donations, but today’s rulers are trying to take credit for the work just by renaming the city to ‘Prayagraj’,” the former chief minister tweeted earlier. They (BJP) have even re-named ‘Ardh Kumbh’ as ‘Kumbh’. This mocks our tradition and belief.”



Congress is also criticizing Yogi Government on this ‘Name Game’. A senior leader of Congress said that changing the name of the historic city to ‘Prayagraj’ is an attempt to toy with the history of the nation.



Uttar Pradesh minister and SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar opposed Yogi Adityanath, in spite of the fact that his party is a part of ruling NDA. He told to the Press, “The BJP changed the names of Mughalsarai and Faizabad. They say they were named after the Mughals. They have a national spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain, Union minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Uttar Pradesh Minister Mohsin Raza – three Muslim faces of the BJP. They should change their names first. This is all a drama to distract the backward and oppressed people whenever they raise their voices for their rights. No one else has given the things that Muslims have given. Should we throw away the GT Road? Who built the Red Fort? Who built the Taj Mahal.”



You can share this post!